Finding cures for children's genetic diseases

News

Targeting Telomeres in Human Disease: Advances and Therapeutic Opportunities

14/Apr/2014  
Date: Wednesday, April 20, 2014
Time: 12:00PM Eastern, 9:00AM Pacific, 5:00PM UK, 6:00PM Central Europe
Duration: 1 hour
About: 
The maintenance of telomeres - the structures of repetitive sequences as the end of a chromatid - is essential to the health of a cell. Dysfunction in telomere maintenance pathways plays an integral role in aging, cancer, and certain rare diseases such as dyskeratosis congenita (DC). The molecular analysis of telomere length, telomerase levels, and activation of the Alternative Lengthening of Telomeres (ALT) pathway are currently being used as prognostic tools in human diseases. This has led to telomere maintenance as a prime target for patient therapies. Studies have shows the modification of TERC (Telomerase RNA Component) expression may be therapeutically beneficial in DC patients. Additionally, current research is targeting telomere lengthening mechanisms as a cancer therapy. In this webinar, our experts will describe the advances in telomere research as it applies to human health and how deeper characterisation of the telomerase maintenance process can uncover targets for therapies.

During the webinar, speakers will discuss: 
  • Genetic and molecular processes underlying telomere diseases such as cancer and dyskeratosis congenita
  • Detection of Alternative Lengthening of Telomeres pathways and telomerase activity in tumor cells
  • Prognostic significance of telomere biology and its impact on patient care
  • Approaches to targeting telomere lengthening mechanisms
  • Answers to your questions, live! 
Participants: 
Roger Reddel, M.B.,B.S.,Ph.D.
Children's Medical Research Institute, Sydney, Australia

Suneet Agarwal, M.D.,Ph.D.
Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA

Register at http://webinar.sciencemag.org/webinar/archive/targeting-telomeres-human-disease or email webinar@aaas.org